I AM BEAUTIFUL LIKE ME

opening

With your long blond hair
and your skin white as snow
your eyes blue, green, or bright
we bleed the same color
and we laugh in the same language
we cry in similar tears
and we care in comparable ways
I am not you
and you are not me
You are beautiful like you
and I am beautiful like me

With your straight dark hair
and your skin slightly dark and light
your eyes dark eyes slightly slanted
we bleed the same color
and we laugh in the same language
we cry in similar tears
and we care in comparable ways
I am not you
and you are not me
You are beautiful like you
and I am beautiful like me

With your hijab covered hair
and your mantras and dark skin involved
your eyes brown and black in color
we bleed the same color
and we laugh in the same language
we cry in similar tears
and we care in comparable ways
I am not you
and you are not me
You are beautiful like you
and I am beautiful like me

With your native hair in color
and your spiritual mother earth guardian
your eyes a history of ages
we bleed the same color
and we laugh in the same language
we cry in similar tears
and we care in comparable ways
I am not you
and you are not me
You are beautiful like you
and I am beautiful like me

With your dark afro and dreadlocks
and your black silky skin
your eyes of history kings and queens
we bleed the same color
and we laugh in the same language
we cry in similar tears
and we care in comparable ways
I am not you
and you are not me
You are beautiful like you
and I am beautiful like me

With my hair black as my mother and father
and my skin brown, the land that gave me birth
my eyes brown/black in reflection
of the roots given from my ancestors
we bleed the same color
and we laugh in the same language
we cry in similar tears
and we care in comparable ways
I am not you
and you are not me
You are beautiful like you
and I am beautiful like me

Hair may change color
from red, black, blond, brown, to gray
skin may vary in tone
from dark, light, in between it’s all the same
a language may be spoken
culture may be chosen
we bleed the same color
and we laugh inthe same language
we cry in simiar tears
and we cre in comparable ways
I am not you
and you are not me
You are beautiful like you
and I am beautiful like me

What if, today you simply chose to be beautiful
like you
because everyday
my brown skin, my black hair
as I look in the mirror
and she looks back at me
I say
I am
beautiful, just as I am
and you are beautiful, in the same form
just as you are

as you look in the mirror

Can you SEE?

LetyM

Leave a Reply

