Why I March, Inspired by the women’s March in the US and around the Globe

Healing

In the corners of the madness
a young girl sits in sadness
she was told not enough
I stood up, Why I March

Not skinny enough, too fat
Turn around, I’ll grab your crotch
When I am done, you can go
I stood up, Why I March

You can cook, you can clean
You can do amazing things
You can with my permission
I stood up, Why I March

You can be pretty, but not smart
You can be sexy, but not that much
You can excel and soar, but only so far
I stood up, Why I March

You can be as good as another
You can be better than your brothers
But your wage, does not matter
I stood up, Why I March

Have a voice, but do not speak
Have opinions, but do not share
Have reason, but be unreasonable
I stood up, Why I March

Be bold and wise, but not too much
Be strong and Independent, but only as such
Turn your cheek, don’t you know
silly girl, how it goes
I stood up, Why I March

Conversion Therapy Spoke
of a Treatment to reverse
and shame, convert, shock, shame, convert
while another life and spirit was broke
and the perpetrator sat and spoke
see I told you so
I am better than you, don’t you know
I stood up, Why I March

Her skin was dark as sunset
and her’s as yellow as the sun
her skin was as light as the white page
my keystrokes black and white
as I looked into each color
and each bleeds in the same manner
I could see no divisive pattern
I stood up, Why I March

In the beauty of my skin
In the color of my hair
In the smell of my soul
In the curve of my flow
In the grace of my spirit
In the love of my life
In the power to be fine
In the courage to ignite
In the ability to thrive
In the opportunity, I rise
I took Charge of My Life
I stood up, Why I March

For the Women and girls
For the Men and young boys
For the present and future

For My Daughter and Son
I stood up, Why I March

Leave a Reply

