More Than Basketball

More than hoops
life’s loops
dribble the ball
you hear the call
more than a kid
that plays not to skip
a workout, a run
a pass or a jump
hard earned sport
through sweat and more work
a coach more of a mentor
becomes family remembered
lessons learned on a court
become more than a sport
the true athlete knows
it is more than basketball

On Saturday Four College Teams will be playing basketball. Kentucky, Wisconsin, Uconn, Florida. Kentucky impressive with a line up of rookies, some experience backing up the other teams. I am not sure who will win on this particular day, I am however familiar with that feeling of making it. It brings back memories not of the caliber of these players that is for sure, but of the feeling of making it there. The late nights practicing basketball. The dedication and time it takes to improve on a basketball game. The bond you form with your coach and teammates they become like your family. My book Six Things to Trash and Six Things to Treasure based on 12 hours to redefine your soul. Basketball is used as a lesson guide. It is the sport I learned the most, both for personal lessons and fitness. The title is not the final draft, however the lessons learned are permanent truth to my heart, may they inspire you.

The First Six Things to Trash

1 O’clock
Life is NOT FAIR, So is OKAY TO BE ANGRY
2 O’clock
Does FEAR paralyze you or propel you?
3 O’clock
Are you a VICTIM or victimized by?
4 O’clock
I’m ONLY THIS, so I CAN’T do that.
5 O’clock
If I FAIL, it will mean I CAN’T, so WHY TRY?
6 O’clock
I’m NOT BRAVE or NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

Get rid of NOT FAIR, OKAY TO BE ANGRY, FEAR, VICTIM, ONLY THIS, I CAN’T, FAIL, WHY TRY, NOT BRAVE, NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

I will post the things to TREASURE on my next blog, share some more basketball anecdotes, encourage and remember those amazing days of life and basketball.

Leave a Reply

